Closing a course for sign up closes the moderation process and
bars new users from participating. The course is still assumed
active and stays in the Learn listings. Once archived the course is
removed from the Learn page listings, but still visible is someone
searches for it, or finds it otherwise.
I am not sure if archived courses are shown in profiles. Can